CGTC Names Semi-Finalists for the 2023 Rick Perkins Award

November 23, 2022

Warner Robins, Ga. – Five Central Georgia Technical College (CGTC) instructors have been selected as the College’s semi-finalists for the Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction and will move on to the next round of judging on November 29.  


Chosen as semi-finalists for the award of being named as Instructor of the Year, are:

Jaqueline Farms, Instructor, Computer Information System, Business & Computer Technologies Division

Deryk Stoops, Instructor, Electronics Technology

Eli Walker, Instructor, Computer Skills  Business & Computer Technologies

Jolie Martin, Instructor and Program Chair, Cosmetology  Public Safety & Professional Services

and Scott Selph, Instructor, Program Chair, and Division Chair, Machine Tool Technology, Aerospace, Trade & Industry.  


Deans from each of the respective divisions recognize the immense talent and contribution of these instructors to advance the mission of the College and support their students.  


CGTC instructors are nominated by their peers for RPA and then sit through various interview panels to select the winner from the group of finalists. 


RPA is a statewide program of the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) and honors excellence in instruction and leadership among the state’s technical college faculty. Winners are selected at each of the state’s 22 technical colleges.  


In the Spring, each college RPA winner will compete in regional judging to determine finalists for the award. 


From that competition, nine regional finalists, three finalists from each of the three regions, will be announced and compete at the state level in April.   


About the Rick Perkins Award

The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors the Technical College System of Georgia’s most outstanding instructors. The award has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields. Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the award was renamed in honor and memory of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Georgia Technical College, formerly known as West Central Technical College, who received the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence prior to his untimely death. The Technical College System of Georgia provides oversight for the Rick Perkins Award program through the system’s office and the state planning committee.