State Authorization & Program Integrity

On October 29, 2010, the U.S. Department of Education (USDOE) released the final “program integrity” regulations. One regulation requires postsecondary institutions offering distance or correspondence courses to students not living in the institution’s state to obtain authorization from states in which it operates (has enrolled students). This authorization is required for students of that state to receive federal financial aid (

CGTC is a member of Southern Regional Educational Board (SREB), one of the four regional compacts which comprise NC-SARA. NC-SARA is a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education. Additional information on CGTC’s State Authorizations and Program Integrity is provided below.

Central Georgia Technical College is authorized to provide online education to students who reside in 48 SARA member states*:


Alabama Lousiana Ohio
Alaska Maine Oklahoma
Arizona Maryland Oregon
Arkansas Michigan Pennsylvania
Colorado Minnesota Rhode Island
Connecticut Mississippi South Carolina
Delaware Missouri South Dakota
Florida Montana Tennessee
Georgia Nebraska Texas
Hawaii Nevada Utah
Idaho New Hampshire Vermont
Illinois New Jersey Virginia
Indiana New Mexico Washington
Iowa New York West Virginia
Kansas North Carolina Wisconsin
Kentucky North Dakota Wyoming

The following states do not require authorization for colleges with no physical presence in the state*:



NC-SARA Map of Authorizations

SREB Background and Details


*Certain online programs, which include internships, practicums, or other experiential requirements may trigger additional State Authorization requirements. Individuals may check program availability in your state by contacting
Complaint Process
Any complaints pertaining to a Central Georgia Technical College online course or program should be filed with Central Georgia Technical College first. Complaints not resolved at the college level may be submitted to TCSG using the Program Integrity Complaint Form.