Driver’s Education

Driver’s Education Course

Apply Now

Online Application 

Informational Flyer 

Paying with Scholarship: 

  1. If you applied and received GDEC grant scholarship, please forward scholarship grant approval email to

Classroom and Driving Course

36-Hour (In Classroom & Behind Wheel)
Cost: $425 per student

August 2024

August- 3rd (9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.)

August- 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 (4:30 to 7:30 p.m.)

August- 10th (9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.)

August 12th (4:30 to 7:30 p.m.)

Driving sessions begin after in classroom sessions through end of month.
Certificate are issued at end of month.

September 2024

September- 7th (9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.)

September- 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, (4:30 to 7:30 p.m.)

September- 14th (9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.)

September 16th (4:30 to 7:30 p.m.)

Driving sessions begin after in classroom sessions through end of month.
Certificate are issued at end of month.

Dates beyond September 2024 will be posted in summer 2024.

Email for more information – 

A major milestone in a teenager’s life is learning how to drive. It’s important for young or inexperienced drivers to learn safe driving techniques. Central Georgia Technical College provides a Department of Driver’s Services (DDS) approved Driver’s Education program in cooperation with the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission (GDEC). The driver’s education course meets the requirement established by Joshua’s Law.

The course includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 additional hours of drive time with an instructor. Participants must be between 15 and 18 years of age and possess a Georgia Learner’s Permit.

Participants must attend all class dates for the full class periods. They must also complete all six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel driving.  Successful completion of this course satisfies Joshua’s Law Requirement and will qualify the student for an insurance discount (restrictions apply).

Drive Only

6 Hour (Behind Wheel Only)
Cost: $400 per student
By Appointment Only

Email for more information – 

The course is 6 hours of drive time with an instructor.  Participants must be at least 15 years of age and possess a Georgia Learner’s Permit.   Those under 18 years of age must obtain their Joshua Law Certificate prior to attending the 6 hour behind the wheel only. Students must present proof of completion of the Department of Driver Services (DDS) online program.  Parent must be present to set up driving schedule for minors.   The Drive Only course is NOT eligible for scholarship. 

Information for Parents/Students:


The Georgia Driver’s Education Commission scholarship program allows students may apply for a driver’s education grant scholarship. The student will apply for the scholarship directly from the Commission through an online application. Upon award of the scholarship, students will be provided with a redemption code and may choose a provider from a list of authorized driver training schools to redeem the grant scholarship.