Technical College System of Georgia Announces 2024 CGTC’S Sharoko Farley as Instructor of the Year

May 8, 2024

Contributed from the Technical College System of Georgia

Central Georgia Technical College Instructor and Proud Putnam County Resident Takes the Top Honor

Atlanta, Ga.- The Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) announced the state’s top instructor for 2024.Sharoko Farley, a Commercial Truck Driving instructor from Central Georgia Technical College (CGTC), was chosen as the winner of this year’s Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction.

The announcement came last week as a part of TCSG’S Leadership Conference which also recognized the state student of the year.

“The GOAL and Rick Perkins awards celebrate not just high achievement, but the embodiment of excellence in our TCSG community,” said TCSG Commissioner, Greg Dozier. “Congratulations to Nicholas Rucker and Sharoko Farley for representing the limitless possibilities within our Technical College System of Georgia. I know both will be tremendous ambassadors, not only for their colleges, but for our entire system this coming year.”

The Rick Perkins Award, now in its 33rd year, highlights excellence in technical instruction and recognizes the most outstanding instructors at the 22 TCSG colleges. As the 2024 Rick Perkins award winner, Sharoko Farley from Central Georgia Technical College received a crystal award and a check for $2,500.

“Congratulations to Sharoko for being recognized as the 2024 TCSG Instructor of the Year,” said Central Georgia Technical College President, Dr. Ivan Allen. “Sharoko goes beyond the title of CDL instructor, serving as a mentor to students at our college, embodying a career driven by a commitment to service first. We are proud to have him as a part of our faculty, as his impact resonates far beyond our Central Georgia Technical College campus and Putnam County Center. On behalf of everyone at Central Georgia Technical College, congratulations on this incredible accomplishment!”

Each year, selection for the Rick Perkins Award begins with the naming of the top technical education instructors at each college. Regional competitions follow and narrow the field to nine finalists for the award. The first runner-up for instructor of the year was Deanna Hulsey, a Cosmetology instructor from Georgia Northwestern Technical College.

As the 2024 state winners, Nicholas Rucker and Sharoko Farley will make public appearances as representatives for technical education during the next year, including meeting with the Governor and addressing the Georgia General Assembly.



As one of the largest two-year colleges in the state, CGTC operates three campuses and five centers
throughout central Georgia, serving more than 30,000 individuals annually. CGTC is focused on connecting graduates to careers by offering quality education services, assuring a well-qualified work force to support a healthy local economy. CGTC is a unit of the Technical College System of Georgia and is regionally accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges. For more information about CGTC, visit Like us on Facebook (, Twitter (@CGTC), and Instagram (@centralgatech).