Student Workshops

Special workshops covering a variety of topics are offered each term. An overview of each workshop is provided.

Workshop Schedule, Spring Semester 2016

Warner Robins Campus

Warner Robins Workshops Workshop Date
Getting Started with Computers Tuesday, January 12, 2016
ANGEL is Gone, Blackboard is Here...Now What? Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Let's Talk! Thursday, January 14, 2016
Expectations for Health Science Students Friday, January 15, 2016 (12:30 only)
Get Better Grades! Thursday, January 21, 2016
Computer File Management Friday, January 22, 2016 (12:30 only)
Introduction to GALILEO Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Read to Succeed Thursday, January 28, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Incredible Resources Friday, January 29, 2016 (12:30 only)
Write Your Way to Better Grades Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016 (12:30 only)
Study Smarter, NOT Harder Thursday, February 4, 2016
Test Stress? Thursday, February 11, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
There's No Right Way or Wrong Way to Learn Friday, February 12, 2016 (12:30 only)
Mid-Terms Are Coming: Are You Ready? Wednesday, February 17, 2016
TKO (Test Knock Out) Thursday, February 18, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016 (12:30 only)
May I Have Your Attention Please? Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Speed Up Your Reading: Skimming and Scanning Thursday, March 24, 2016
Get Recharged! Finish the Semester Strong Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Finals Are Coming: Are You Ready? Thursday, April 7, 2016

For more information on Warner Robins workshops, contact (478) 218-3372.

 

Macon Campus

Macon Workshops Workshop Date
Expectations for Health Science Students Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Get Better Grades! Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Read to Succeed Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Incredible Resources Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Write Your Way to Better Grades Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Study Smarter, NOT Harder Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Test Stress? Tuesday, March 1, 2016
There's No Right or Wrong Way to Learn Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Mid-Terms Are Coming: Are You Ready? Tuesday, March 15, 2016
TKO (Test Knock Out) Tuesday, March 22, 2016
May I Have Your Attention Please? Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Speed Up Your Reading: Skimming and Scanning Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Get Recharged! Finish the Semester Strong Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Finals Are Coming: Are You Ready? Tuesday, April 19, 2016

For more information on Macon workshops, contact (478) 784-3674.

 

Milledgeville Campus

Milledgeville Workshops Workshop Date
Get Better Grades! Monday, January 11, 2016
Read to Succeed Monday, January 25, 2016
Incredible Resources Monday, February 1, 2016
Study Smarter, NOT Harder Monday, February 8, 2016
Test Stress? Monday, February 22, 2016
TKO (Test Knock Out) Monday, February 29, 2016

For more information on Milledgeville workshops, contact (478) 445-2343.

 


updated January 13, 2016



Overview of Workshops

Overview of the Getting Started with Computers Workshop

Log onto Windows and access college programs:

  • MyMail
  • Banner
  • Student Portal
  • DegreeWorks
  • Etc.
Overview of the ANGEL is Gone, Blackboard is Here Workshop

Designed to give students additional support following Blackboard Student Orientation

Overview of the Let's Talk! Workshop

Communicate effectively with faculty/staff for college success.

Overview of the Expectations for Health Science Students Workshop

Learn about responsibility, organization, ethics, and other job skills.

Overview of the Get Better Grades Workshop

Learn to develop a study schedule and take good notes.

Overview of the Computer File Management Workshop

Store and manage files safely using CGTC's J-Drive

Overview of the Computer File Management Workshop

Access database information and create citations for papers using the GALILEO citation feature and other devices

Overview of the Read to Succeed Workshop

Understand (comprehend) what you read

Overview of the Incredible Resources Workshop

Choose the best Internet sites to support your paper and give credit to references

Overview of the Write Your Way to Better Grades Workshop

Improve writing skills to meet course expectations

Overview of the Study Smarter, NOT Harder Workshop
In this workshop, students will learn the importance of developing effective study habits, which are extremely necessary in a college environment. Several tips will be addressed, including the following:

  • Attending class helps students to retain the material.
  • Taking notes provides positive results-Most of the material discussed in class is forgotten within the first 24 hours if not reviewed.
  • Other topics such as critical thinking, study groups, time management, note cards, and maintaining a positive attitude are discussed.
Overview of the Test Stress? Workshop

Manage test anxiety and perform better on tests

Overview of the There's No Right Way or Wrong Way to Learn Workshop

Understand how you learn and how your learning style connects with different teaching styles

Overview of the TKO (Test Knock Out) Workshop

Master any test and get better grades

Overview of the May I Have Your Attention Please? Workshop

Set goals, manage time, and effectively use smart devices, Facebook, and other social media sites

Overview of the Get Recharged! Finish the Semester Strong Workshop

Strategies and tips

For more information contact the Academic Success Center – (478) 757-3674

Return to Top

 

SMARTHINKING

SMARTHINKING

Tutoring is available online 24 hours a day, seven days a week! Log into the Student Portal to access this feature.