Campus News

GOAL Nominees Announced

Instructors at Central Georgia Technical College (CGTC) have nominated nine students for the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL), according to Rhonda Koplin, coordinator for the College's GOAL program. Chosen for recognition by their instructors are Pearlie Basley, an Early Childhood Care/Education major from Dry Branch, Barbara Bogue, a Cosmetology major from Cochran, Kristen Etheridge, a Radiologic Technology major from Ivey, Arlene Harris, a Business Office Technology major from Gordon, Tracy Hudson, an Early Childhood Care/Education major from Macon, Nadine Slappey, an Early Childhood Care/Education major from Eatonton, Stacy Taylor, an Accounting major from Macon, Rachel Valentine, a Cosmetology major from Macon, and John Zayac, a Radiologic Technology major from Macon.

The Georgia Department of Technical and Adult Education sponsors the GOAL program at the state-level. At the college-level, GOAL is sponsored by the CGTC Foundation and coordinated by officials from CGTC.

"The purpose of the GOAL program," said Koplin, "is to spotlight the importance of technical education in today's world of work and to recognize outstanding achievement by students in Georgia's technical colleges."

A Screening Committee of administrators and instructors at Central Georgia Technical College will now review all the nominations and interview each of the students. After the nominees have been ranked, finalists will be chosen to compete for the title of Central Georgia Technical College's GOAL winner.

The finalists will then be interviewed and evaluated by a selection committee. The student judged most outstanding will be designated the College's nominee for the title of state GOAL winner and will compete with representatives from the state's other technical colleges for the state award.

The winner of the state GOAL title, which is awarded for excellence in leadership and ability, will receive the GOAL medallion and the grand prize of new automobile. The state winner's college GOAL coordinator and the nominating instructor will receive a $250 check.

Pictured from left to right are Tracy Hudson, Kristen Etheridge, Arlene Harris, Pearlie Basley, Nadine Slappey, Barbara Bogue, and John Zayac.

Submitted by Rhonda Koplin
February 14, 2006


Back to Press Releases

If you have questions or need more information,
email Janet Kelly, Assistant Vice President, Marketing and Public Relations.