Campus News

TCSG, Mercer University Sign Articulation Agreement

The leadership of the Technical College System of Georgia and Mercer University have signed an articulation agreement that creates new education opportunities for TCSG students who graduate with an associate’s degree from any of the 19 TCSG colleges that are accredited by the Southern Association of College and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).

Under the agreement, which was signed on August 18, students who complete their associate’s degree from a SACSCOC-accredited TCSG college can transfer their college credits toward a bachelor’s degree in one of the following nine programs offered by Mercer’s College of Continuing and Professional Studies or Tift College of Education:

General Education
Human Resources Administration and Development
Human Services
Organizational Leadership
Public Safety
Early Childhood Special Education
Middle Level Education
Early Care and Education

“We’re grateful to Mercer University Provost Wallace Daniel and his faculty and staff for their desire to partner with the TCSG on this articulation agreement and open new doors of opportunity for our students. It creates a seamless pathway for eligible TCSG graduates who want to continue their higher education and earn a bachelor’s degree from one of Georgia’s great private universities,” said TCSG Commissioner Ron Jackson.

Dr. Michael Moye, President of Central Georgia Technical College, stated, “This is a tremendous opportunity for our students to build on their education at a highly esteemed four-year institution located right here in central Georgia. We are delighted to strengthen our partnership with Mercer and we look forward to assisting our students in pursuing their future educational goals.”

Candidates must meet all requirements for admission to Mercer University and the appropriate degree program. For more information about Mercer, go to

Nineteen of the 25 TCSG colleges are accredited by SACSCOC. Those colleges are: Albany Technical College, Athens Technical College, Atlanta Technical College, Augusta Technical College, Central Georgia Technical College, Chattahoochee Technical College, Columbus Technical College, DeKalb Technical College, Georgia Northwestern Technical College, Gwinnett Technical College, Middle Georgia Technical College, North Georgia Technical College, Okefenokee Technical College, Savannah Technical College, Southeastern Technical College, Southern Crescent Technical College, Southwest Georgia Technical College, West Georgia Technical College and Wiregrass Georgia Technical College.

The remaining six TCSG colleges are accredited by the separate Council on Occupational Education, although each is currently involved in the process to also earn its SACSCOC accreditation. Those six colleges are: Altamaha Technical College, Lanier Technical College, Moultrie Technical College, Oconee Fall Line Technical College, Ogeechee Technical College and South Georgia Technical College.

Submitted by Mike Light, TCSG Exec. Dir. of Communications
August 19, 2011


Back to Press Releases

If you have questions or need more information,
email Janet Kelly, Assistant Vice President, Marketing and Public Relations.