Campus News

Derek Seay Chosen as CGTC GOAL Winner

Derek Seay, an Aircraft Structural Technology student from Bibb County at Central Georgia Technical College, was named as the college’s winner of the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership.

The announcement was made at the college’s GOAL recognition meeting on February 23 on the Macon Campus.

Seay was chosen by a panel of local leaders over three other nominees for the award. The runners-up were Robert Holcomb, an Instrumentation and Controls Technology student from Jones County, Elizabeth Majors, an Early Childhood Care and Education student from Bibb County and Sarah Simcox, a Cardiovascular Technology student from Baldwin County.

GOAL, a statewide program of the Technical College System of Georgia, honors excellence in academics and leadership among the state’s technical college students. Local GOAL winners are selected at each of the state’s 26 technical colleges as well as the two Board of Regents colleges with technical education divisions.

The announcement of Seay as the CGTC GOAL winner was made by Dr. Mike Moye, CGTC President.

Seay will now proceed to regional judging. All college GOAL winners will receive an all-expense-paid trip to Atlanta for two days in May. Nine finalists, three regional finalists from the three regions, will be announced while in Atlanta and if chosen, he will compete with the other eight GOAL finalists from the other state technical college campuses. A panel of leaders from the business, industry and government sectors will interview them and choose one to be the 2011 state GOAL winner and the recipient of the GOAL medallion.

The grand prize also includes a new car, courtesy of Chevrolet, the statewide corporate sponsor of the GOAL program.

“The GOAL nominees embody the best of the best of our students. Our judges faced a difficult decision. I am confident that Derek will represent CGTC very well in the upcoming GOAL process,” Moye stated.

Seay chose to attend CGTC to earn his degree in Technical Studies and pursue a career in Aircraft Structural Technology.

From left are Seay, Moye and Seay's nominating instructor Mike Engel.

Submitted by Rebecca Ledford
February 24, 2011


Back to Press Releases

If you have questions or need more information,
email Janet Kelly, Assistant Vice President, Marketing and Public Relations.