Campus News

Anita Dailey selected as Georgia Association on Young Children's (GAYC) Educator of the Year

Anita Dailey, program chair for the Early Childhood Care and Education program at Central Georgia Technical College, has been named Educator of the Year by the Georgia Association on Young Children (GAYC). The award was presented on October 11 at GAYC's 42nd annual conference in Atlanta.

"For Anita to receive this award is a true honor," said Dr. Ronald D. Natale, II, president of Central Georgia Technical College. "We are happy GAYC has chosen to recognize Anita for the quality and caliber of her work as chair of our Early Childhood Care and Education program. She is committed to preparing future educators with the best practices and methods available to use in their work with young children. This is something the entire CGTC family is very proud of."

The Educator of the Year is awarded to a GAYC member who is a secondary or postsecondary educator for outstanding work in the area of Child Development, Early Childhood Education, Early Childhood Special Education, or a related field.

Since 1966, GAYC has worked independently and collectively with local, state, and national organizations in activities designed to move Georgia closer to meeting and improving early care and education experiences of young children. Efforts have included support of appropriate early learning standards and assessments for young children, accreditation of child care and early education programs, professional development opportunities for those who work with young children, early detection and support of children with special needs, and family support programs.

About Central Georgia Technical College

A comprehensive higher education institution, Central Georgia Technical College provides students more than 200 career program opportunities with numerous degree, diploma and certificate options, in addition to customized business and industry services, continuing education and adult education services. The College serves Baldwin, Bibb, Crawford, Jones, Monroe, Putnam and Twiggs Counties.

Submitted by
October 14, 2008


Back to Press Releases

If you have questions or need more information,
email Janet Kelly, Assistant Vice President, Marketing and Public Relations.